Best picks · UK edition
Disclosure We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no extra cost to you. How we make money. Rankings are never paid for.
Therapists need private, reliable booking: intake forms before the first session, packages for courses of sessions, and somewhere sensible for client data to live. In the UK, health information is special category data under UK GDPR, so ask each supplier where data is stored and for its data processing agreement. This page is general information, not legal advice.
Prices as ofGBP or USD as published
Best for intake forms and packages
Acuity Scheduling
Intake forms, packages and memberships; HIPAA BAA on Premium. USD pricing.
- Free plan
- No (7-day free trial)
- Entry price
- From $16 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Best EU-based option
SimplyBook.me
EU company with HIPAA features on Standard and above, reminders and a free plan.
- Free plan
- Yes: 50 bookings a month, 1 provider
- Entry price
- From $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Best for clinics with clinical notes
Jane App
Clinical notes, billing and telehealth; UK plans from £29 a month plus a per-practitioner charge.
- Free plan
- No
- Entry price
- From £29 per month (+ per practitioner)
VAT basis not stated
Best budget option with an EU data centre
Zoho Bookings
Low per-staff pricing; Zoho runs UK and EU data centres.
- Free plan
- Yes: 1 staff member, 1 event type
- Entry price
- From $6 per staff/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Best for self-hosting
Cal.com
Open source; host it yourself to control where data lives.
- Free plan
- Yes: 1 user, unlimited event types
- Entry price
- From $12 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
How we chose
We compared every tool we track against these criteria, using each vendor's published prices and features as of 2 November 2026. We haven't run hands-on tests of every tool for this edition; see the methodology.
- Privacy options: a HIPAA BAA, an EU or UK data location, or self-hosting
- Intake forms, packages and payments
- Published prices
Side by side
| Tool | Best for | Free plan | Entry price | Links |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Service businesses: coaches, therapists, salons and studios | No (7-day free trial) | From $16 per month (annual billing) US dollars; UK VAT may be added | Review · Visit site | |
| Tech-savvy teams, developers and anyone who wants open source or self-hosting | Yes: 1 user, unlimited event types | From $12 per user/month (annual billing) US dollars; UK VAT may be added | Review · Visit site | |
| Allied health clinics: physio, chiropractic and therapy | No | From £29 per month (+ per practitioner) VAT basis not stated | Visit site | |
| Service businesses such as salons, clinics, tutors and fitness; EU-friendly | Yes: 50 bookings a month, 1 provider | From $11.90 per month (annual billing) US dollars; UK VAT may be added | Review · Visit site | |
| Budget small businesses and existing Zoho users | Yes: 1 staff member, 1 event type | From $6 per staff/month (annual billing) US dollars; UK VAT may be added | Review · Visit site |
Features at a glance
| Tool | Free plan | Payments | SMS reminders | UK/EU data angle | Teams | AI features | Marketplace | Video calls |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acuity Scheduling | No (7-day free trial) | Stripe, Square, PayPal | From Standard | Not checked | Calendars by plan (1, 6, 36) | AI Booking Assistant (Premium) | No | Zoom |
| SimplyBook.me | Yes: 50 bookings a month, 1 provider | Stripe, PayPal; POS | SMS and WhatsApp | EU company (GDPR) | Providers by plan | Not checked | No | Zoom |
| Jane App | No | Own payments | Not checked | Not checked | Per practitioner | Not checked | No | Built-in telehealth |
| Zoho Bookings | Yes: 1 staff member, 1 event type | Stripe, PayPal | Not checked | EU data centre option | Priced per staff member | Not checked | No | Zoom |
| Cal.com | Yes: 1 user, unlimited event types | Stripe | Not checked | Self-host for data control | Teams plan | Cal.ai phone agent | No | Zoom |
'Not checked' means our research didn't confirm the feature either way; it doesn't mean the tool lacks it. Features are from vendor pricing pages and documentation as recorded on 2 November 2026.
Questions people ask
Which booking tools offer HIPAA features?
HIPAA is US law, but some UK practitioners use it as a benchmark. Acuity offers a HIPAA BAA on Premium and SimplyBook.me has HIPAA features on Standard and above. For UK GDPR, ask any supplier for its data processing agreement and where data is stored.
Related
Sources
Prices and features as recorded on 2 November 2026 from these pages (research pass 26 October to 2 November 2026). Prices change: check the vendor's page before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.
- Acuity Scheduling: https://acuityscheduling.com/pricing
- SimplyBook.me: https://simplybook.me/en/pricing
- Jane App: https://jane.app/pricing?locale=en-GB
- Zoho Bookings: https://www.zoho.com/bookings/pricing.html
- Cal.com: https://cal.com/pricing