Independent booking software comparisons, run from the UKUK edition · Prices checked
US edition

Disclosure We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no extra cost to you. How we make money. Rankings are never paid for.

Alternatives · UK edition

The best Fresha alternatives for UK salons (2026)

Fresha's 20% fee on new marketplace clients, and the end of its free plan, are the main reasons UK salons look elsewhere. The alternatives split into a marketplace rival (Booksy) and tools with no marketplace fee (Square Appointments, SimplyBook.me, Setmore).

Prices as ofGBP or USD as published

No (7-day trial; Fresha used to be free)Fresha free plan
From £9.95 per bookable team member/month
ex VAT (£11.94 inc VAT at 20%) Unconfirmed
Fresha entry price
5Alternatives compared

No marketplace fee

Keep costs flat if your book is already full.

Square Appointments

The strongest free option for UK salons, barbers and other businesses that take card payments in person: unlimited staff at one location for free, with POS and no-show fees built in. You're tied to Square for payments.

Free plan
Yes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)
Entry price
From £29 per location/month
VAT basis not stated

Visit Square Appointments

SimplyBook.me

The most configurable all-rounder for service businesses, with a useful free plan, SMS and WhatsApp reminders, point of sale and a HIPAA option. The 'custom features' model takes some working out.

Free plan
Yes: 50 bookings a month, 1 provider
Entry price
From $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit SimplyBook.me

Setmore

The cheapest way for a small team to get started: free for up to four users, with a low-priced Pro plan on annual billing and 24/7 human support. Reporting is basic and SMS needs Pro.

Free plan
Yes: up to 4 users
Entry price
From $5 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Setmore

Marketplace rival

If you still want new clients from an app.

Booksy

Barbers and beauty professionals.

Free plan
No (trial)
Entry price
From £40 per month
ex VAT (£48 inc VAT at 20%)

Visit Booksy

For appointments with packages

If you sell courses or memberships.

Acuity Scheduling

One of the most complete appointment tools for client-facing service businesses: intake forms, packages, memberships, gift cards and payments, with a HIPAA BAA on Premium. There's no free plan and the interface feels dated.

Free plan
No (7-day free trial)
Entry price
From $16 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added

Visit Acuity Scheduling

All Fresha alternatives side by side

Booking software compared
ToolBest forFree planEntry priceLinks
Acuity Scheduling
Appointments for service businesses
Service businesses: coaches, therapists, salons and studiosNo (7-day free trial)From $16 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Booksy
Salons and spas
Barbers and beauty professionalsNo (trial)From £40 per month
ex VAT (£48 inc VAT at 20%)
Visit site
Fresha
Salons and spas
Salons, barbers and spas, especially in the UKNo (7-day trial; Fresha used to be free)From £9.95 per bookable team member/month
ex VAT (£11.94 inc VAT at 20%) Unconfirmed
Review · Visit site
Setmore
Appointments for service businesses
Budget-conscious small businesses and small teamsYes: up to 4 usersFrom $5 per user/month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
SimplyBook.me
Appointments for service businesses
Service businesses such as salons, clinics, tutors and fitness; EU-friendlyYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerFrom $11.90 per month (annual billing)
US dollars; UK VAT may be added
Review · Visit site
Square Appointments
Appointments for service businesses
Salons, barbers, spas and any business taking card paymentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)From £29 per location/month
VAT basis not stated
Review · Visit site

Features compared

Feature matrix
ToolFree planPaymentsSMS remindersUK/EU data angleTeamsAI featuresMarketplaceVideo calls
FreshaNo (7-day trial; Fresha used to be free)Own paymentsNot checkedNot checkedPriced per bookable memberAI Concierge add-onFresha marketplace (20% new-client fee)Not checked
Square AppointmentsYes: 1 location, unlimited staff (UK)Square payments (built in)Not checkedNot checkedUnlimited staff on Free (1 location)Not checkedReserve with GoogleNot checked
SimplyBook.meYes: 50 bookings a month, 1 providerStripe, PayPal; POSSMS and WhatsAppEU company (GDPR)Providers by planNot checkedNoZoom
SetmoreYes: up to 4 usersSquare, Stripe, PayPalPro onlyNot checkedFree for up to 4 usersNot checkedNoZoom
BooksyNo (trial)Own paymentsNot checkedNot checked+£5 per extra staff (UK)Not checkedBooksy marketplace (Boost optional)Not checked
Acuity SchedulingNo (7-day free trial)Stripe, Square, PayPalFrom StandardNot checkedCalendars by plan (1, 6, 36)AI Booking Assistant (Premium)NoZoom

'Not checked' means our research didn't confirm the feature either way; it doesn't mean the tool lacks it. Features are from vendor pricing pages and documentation as recorded on 2 November 2026.

Sources

Prices and features as recorded on 2 November 2026 from these pages (research pass 26 October to 2 November 2026). Prices change: check the vendor's page before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.